Watch Winder; Help for a Beginner.

retske

Joined Jul 28, 2009
As stated in title I am new to these projects. I am an engineering student and a life-time tinkerer, but I have yet to learn (or maybe I am to slow to) apply my learnings to this project.

I am making an automatic watch winder, for automatic or self-winding watches. Look it up on google or I explain what I want soon, but here is the basics for my project:

I have built a box; 9" wide x 8 length for the base, the height is different front and back, front is 3" and back is 7" and (if I remember correctly) the angle connecting is around 20 degrees.

All that info is so you know the scope of the area I am working with. In other words a 22" x 20" x 13" controller might be a little large.

Now in the angled face of the box is 2 holes (about 3" diameter) and I have 2 circular platforms for the watches to be attached to (don't worry how I have that worked out). The platforms will sit inside the box at the holes and rotate very slowly; 5-10 RPMs is optimal 20-30 RPMs is acceptable (I guess... :rolleyes: ).

Here is the problem:
I got few stepper motors for cheap (specs here http://www.surplusshed.com/pages/item/m2015p.html), but I don't understand and have been unable to find much info (at least info I fully understand) about stepper motor controllers, drivers, and programmers.
I am guessing I need a controller that will control at least 2 steppers, has internal memory, so once programmed it can run without a computer, and is small enough to fit in the box.

My wants:
I would like the platforms to rotate clockwise for 30 minutes, then rotate 30 minutes counter clockwise, stop for 2-3 hours, then repeat the steps indefinitely; unless powered off, but when powered back on it will go about the program. Approximates are ok. Also, the cheaper the better. Recommendations are always welcome, actually that is why I asked.

What I have: