Want to build a Pipe Organ?

cornflake000

Joined Aug 16, 2010
Hello everyone. I think this is my first post on this forum although I have been lurking in the background from time to time and have filled out my knowledge of electronics a bit... thank you.

OK... I have an unusual project in mind and if anyone has any input, I would find it somewhere between extremely helpful to at least interesting.

I am a pipe organ builder and am in charge of an huge organ in Salt Lake City, UT with about 6000 pipes. I have built many of the stops (pipes) as well as much of the pneumatic valve systems and electro pneumatic parts. There is one thing that this organ needs which is a stop called a 32 foot Open Flue. It is a huge set of pipes the largest of which is 36 feet high and would weigh about 700 lbs. There are 30 of these pipes which decrease in size from the biggest to about 8.5 feet high. To make a long story longer, there really isn't enough room to make these monstrous things. I just finished making another set of '32 reeds and that is about all the room there is up there. What I think I want to do is make an electrical version of this thing with very large speakers. The sound that these pipes make starts at 1 octave below the piano at 16hz so what I am talking about is basically a huge sub sonic (not literally) rumble. It basically just makes the windows shake for the effect. Sound interesting?

What I vision are 30 small circuits each capable of producing a stable wave form that can be adjusted within a couple of Hz. but not much more for each note of this scale. The wave form would also need to be adjusted or filtered to give it a sharper edge or rounder as needed. I would simply amplify the sounds into a couple of maybe 15" drivers. I also thought that if I were to make 2 of these circuits for each note and separate the systems and drivers, that the natural acoustic effect could be astounding.