volume control treble loss

secretagentman

Joined Aug 14, 2012
secretagentman here.

Greetings. I have made many modifications to the circuitry of electric guitars, over 32 years. The first of these was very simple. It's called a "bright" cap, or a treble by-pass. I use it on all of my personal guitars.
It is a .001uf cap placed across the in and out legs of the volume pot.
This might be a "dumb" question, but I am new at making a formal attempt to learn some theory besides Ohm's Law, and new to this forum.
I haven't learned the "ropes" yet. Question : "Why is treble "lost" or attenuated by turning a guitar's volume pot down" ? Any advice or opinions are very welcome. Thanks in advance for your time.

Last edited:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The capacitance of the cord is significant. A volume control can be in the range of 100,000 ohms to 500,000 ohms. When you put that in series with 18 pf per foot, the highs start leaking out.

That's why I invented the CTA...cord tip amplifier. It's a jfet source follower that fits in the 1/4 inch male plug.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Question : "Why is treble "lost" or attenuated by turning a guitar's volume pot down" ? Any advice or opinions are very welcome. Thanks in advance for your time.
Huh, so you're going to make me guess what value the pot is? In that case I'm just gonna wave my hands to explain this till some kid with a spice program prints out some graphs.

A pot works for volume control since it makes a natural voltage divider. If you pick a cap of the right value it works in parallel with the upper resistance to make it effectively lower at higher frequencies, which lets thru more signal, hence it "brightens" the music.