Voltage Regulation From A Battery

moonie1

Joined Apr 9, 2009
Hi,

I am a noob and I did search the forum but could not find a hit on my project or questions but got some very close answers (I did only look at 4 pages of search results though).

I am trying to replace a 9v 2 amp DC out (110VAC in) power supply with a 12v 7.5 AH sealed lead acid battery. This is to solve the problem of a digital display picture frame device that must sit on a coffee table in the center of the room with no VAC outlets under the table. I built a LM388T linear voltage regulator circuit and it seems to work fine until I tested my regulated 9v output voltage with loads. Had significant drop in 9V output voltage under small loads drawing < 2 amps.

I realized that the 12v battery even when fully charged will drop voltage below 12v when a large current draw is applied. Therefore if V(in) (battery voltage) is not stable and goes down under load then V(out) will go down and be below my desired 9v. Did not test the battery and linear voltage regulator on the digital picture frame display device for fear of harming it.

(1) Are there any incorrect statements or important feedbacks needed for what has been said so far?

(2) Do I really need to build a switching voltage regulator (like at http://www.dimensionengineering.com/DE-SWADJ3.htm) and my circuit becomes just this device and input/output leads? I read these switching regulators are what are needed in battery powered robots were servo motors cause big current draws and therefore voltage drops in the battery that the digital circuits don't like to have - is this true?

(3) If a switching regulator is the way to go is the DE-SWADJ3 the best device? Seems a little pricey at $25/ea but that was about what the entire LM388T circuit cost me when all was said and done.

(4) Should I go with a DE-SWADJ3 regulator over a LM388T regulator just from a power conversion (better efficiency) point of view?

All feedback is welcome.

tia

moonie1