Voltage inverter

gdrag

Joined Aug 16, 2008
I am a naive hobbyist and I am looking for a simple voltage inverter that will take a varying voltage input and simply output that same negative voltage. It not be heavily loaded (probably less than 1 amp) and I am really looking for the simplist easiest to implemnent soluytion and am really hoping there is a regulator that I can utilize with no or few external parts to the actual component solution...does any one have any suggestions?
Thanks
Guy

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Welcome to the forums, Guy.

What is the minimum and maximum voltages that the input signal might have?

What kind of frequency range is expected for the input signal?

Do you wish to actually invert the waveform, or just offset it from another voltage?

1 Ampere is actually a good bit of current. This rather limits various options. It's still do-able, but it will help us recommend less expensive solutions if your actual current requirements were considerably less.

gdrag

Joined Aug 16, 2008
Thanks for the greeting...I appreciate the respose.
The voltage will vary from around +3 to +12v in (0 to -12v out)...it will also be a dc input voltage if that helps. Basically I am having to convert and input voltage to a color mixing circuit for strip LEDs from a unit that switches the positive side RGB (turns on leds by applying positive voltage to RGB led with a common negative) to switch RGB from the neg (turns on RGB led by appying negative side to turn on to a common +). If anyone has a suggestion as to a better way to get there I am certainly open as well.
Thanks again

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
OK. The first thing to clear up is that LEDs are current devices, not voltage.
LEDs have a Vf (forward voltage) that is relatively constant over a fairly wide range of current. If you try to vary the voltage across an LED, you will get a tremendous change in current for a very small change in voltage.