Voltage Drop, Voltage Drop, Voltage Drop....

NickNYC

Joined Jun 30, 2011
Hello all - I am a newbie on this forum, and I want to express a certain frustration I feel while reading the tutorials and forum commentaries here.

The term "voltage drop" is used hundreds and hundreds of times throughout this site.

Yet NOBODY, even once, has defined clearly and exactly what this term means. It seems to me, considering the frequency of usage of the term, that it should be one of the all-time basics, and should not be assumed knowledge on the part of the reader, especially in the tutorials.

For God's sake....WHAT IS "VOLTAGE DROP"? EXACTLY? Voltage drop is... across such and such component? What does THAT mean?

Thank you so much!!

edgetrigger

Joined Dec 19, 2010
its the voltage that is dropped or absorbed by resostors .....
Only resistors??? what about voltage drop accross diodes, gas discharge tubes, inductors, capacitors, pnpn...........pn junctions etc..
BTW resistors won't absorb voltage...

Please brush up your basics with google for your own good.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Welcome to AAC!

This has been stated, but in Volume 1, Chapter 1, Section 4

http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_1/chpt_1/4.html

In learning electronics, reading is required. This site is unusual in that we have a text book at the core of it, so the required reading is local.

The sum of all voltages dropped in the circuit should add to the power supply voltage. Ohm's Law usually rules, but not always. Quantum physics actually shows it's head in some of this stuff, as in diode drops, LED drops, transistor Base Emitter drops, etc.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
NickNYC, Welcome to AAC!

"voltage drop" is an in-circle expression that nobody has to define because we all understand what it means. Here is the lowdown.

It is like "distance". We do not define it because we know what it means.
Saying "The distance at New York City" has no meaning,