Voltage Controlled Constant Current Source

drago

Joined Aug 12, 2009
My project is to make a Voltage-Controlled Constant Current Source. I have found two solutions… This is first one

http://electronicdesign.com/Articles...ArticleID=9018

Problem is last sentence: For the circuit shown, a maximum current of 20 mA is feasible for a maximum load of 1100 Ω. using higher-voltage op amps and larger power transistors can increase these values if cost isn't a concern.
Cost is not much of a problem, but obtaining those components is hard in Croatia. So that solution is out of the game!!!

Second solution is this one and I will try to make it work

http://www.priorartdatabase.com/IPCOM/000007013/

I am new in electronics and I need help with choosing components for this circuit. This is my basic problem

Specifications are: Ic is constant and max 100 mA, that current is controlled by U1 and U2. The load is variable from 0.5k to 2 kΩ. Second amp will provide constant current because it is connected like Current Source with Floating Load and first amp will provide control voltage.

Circuit works as it should in multisim file is hire

http://adria.fesb.hr/~dgabelic/VCCS.ms9

and the picture is in the attachment...

All help is more then welcome...

Attachments

drago

Joined Aug 12, 2009
then my mentor is gone crasy i don't have 100 euros for amp.

I was wrong when i told that is 10mA in last tread. I was thinking he can't tell me 100mA it is too much but it is (thought i heard it wrong) i asked him now again..

i am stuck...

How i can build 200V supply... use what direct power supply or build something using capacitors even if i get that i still have money problem for amp.

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
The simplest circuit is in the first part of my attached diagram.
Only the transistor needs to be high voltage. Low voltage op-amp.