Voltage Amplification - OpAmp?

Jet

Joined Feb 9, 2008
I have a thermopile which produces a very small voltage (about 1-4 mV as far as I can tell). I would like to amplify this up to about 5 volts if possible.

From what I have read, an OpAmp shoule be suitable for this. I have a 741 OpAmp but I can't seem to get it to do anything with my small voltage, although I'm not entirely sure I have it wired correctly as I have no experience with OpAmps. The 741 has pins for Input Bias among other things and I'm not sure what this does.

I have it wired similarly to this:

With the + from the thermopile connected to the non-inverting input of the OpAmp but nothing connected to the inverting input, and a voltmeter as the load to see what voltage comes out of it.

Any advice on wiring the 741 OpAmp, or other ways of amplifying the voltage is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jet

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
An opamp has two inputs and your diagram has only one so there is a problem. Your input voltages are the same order of magnitude as the offset voltages and the input bias currents. You might have to research the instrumentation amplifier. It would probably be a good idea to get some ice-time with a modern part before you proceed.

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
Work through this first.
http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_8/index.html

You should be looking for

The difference between inverting and non inverting inputs

Op amp supply arrangements.
The 741 is mean to have a positive and negative supply, balanced about zero (earth). Your circuit cannot work with a 741 because of this.
As PB says, there are more modern op amps that can work from a single supply.

Feedback arrangements to give the required gain (of the order of 1000) reliably.

Feedback arrangements to limit the op amp frequency response to prevent unwanted oscillation. The output from a thermocouple will vary slowly so you don't need a high speed op amp and need to limit the response to perhaps 500 Hz.

Jet