volt range for LED's

lotusmoon

Joined Jun 14, 2013
I am new to electronics and am building a 555 timer to run an LED cluster. If i use 15 volts there is enough power for the LED's. Is there a general volt range for LED's or is 15 volts at 200mA the same as 5 volts at 600mA ?

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
The power available is the same, but LEDs require a minimum voltage in order to have the current flow through it. Let's say the LEDs require 2.5V. Three LEDs in series would require at least 7.5V. The 15V supply will turn on the LEDs, but the 5V supply will not.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Last edited:

lotusmoon

Joined Jun 14, 2013
Thank you for being so helpful.
I am going to have the LED's in parallel so I don't think there will be a voltage drop.
As long as there is not a maximum voltage I think I am OK.

Is there a minimum Amps to start an LED?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Putting LEDs in parallel is not a good thing because each LED has different current-voltage characteristics. The LEDs will not be the same brightness.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Thank you for being so helpful.
I am going to have the LED's in parallel so I don't think there will be a voltage drop.
As long as there is not a maximum voltage I think I am OK.

Is there a minimum Amps to start an LED?
Why would you think there wouldn't be a voltage drop if they are in parallel?

An LED, like most other diodes, has a characteristic voltage drop across it when it is conducting the amount of current that it is rated for. This voltage changes some with current and some with temperature and some with just being the third LED from the left of the die when it was fabbed.