Volt-control relay

schmoofer

Joined Aug 26, 2013
Hi all,

I'm a novice with electronics so please bear with me. I'd like to build a voltage-controlled relay, specifically a sort of "gate" that will allow current to pass (turn on) above 12.8 V or so and close at voltages below that. I'm looking to use it in my motorbike to connect it with my phone charger so it will only charge when the bike is running and being charged by the alternator (at which point the terminals will read out a voltage above 12.8 V or so).

From perusing the forum and the web, it seems a comparator (an LM311 or so) coupled with zener diodes will do the trick, but I'm dumbfounded when it comes to building it and choosing what resistors and capacitors to use. Can anyone offer advice or point me to a circuit diagram? I've looked at the diagram here. How valid is it? Thanks!

David

P.S. Can a moderator change the title to "Help with Voltage-Controlled Relay"? I'm getting the bug where I can't submit a thread unless the title is 20 characters or less. And I can't PM since I just joined =( Thanks!

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
The LM311 should do the trick, I used one on a 240vdc mobile generator circuit to control the field above a certain voltage.
You just need a scaled down version.
Max.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
Why do you need to do this? Are you worried about power flowing the wrong direction; worried about your phone trying to charge the bike?

schmoofer

Joined Aug 26, 2013
I'm more so worried that the phone or, rather the charger will drain the bike, which has happened. I also want to power a gps tracking device on my bike, so I want it to only charge when the bike's running and use it's own battery when it's not.

piranha3380

Joined May 28, 2013