Vol. 6, Chapter 7, Experiment #6 heat problem.

NCGrimbo

Joined Aug 19, 2005
Hi all. I wanted to add an on/off switch to the LED Sequencer experiment. I got a lighted, 12V rocker switch from Radio Shack and connected the ground plug to the ground on the battery, the middle power plug to the positive on the battery, and the remaining plug went to power input for the circuit. IE: The switch sits between the battery and the 1M Ohm resistor on the picture.

I have alegator clips on the battery terminals and when I run the circuit with the new switch, the clip on the negative terminal of the battery gets hot. I assume that this is not a good thing. Any hints on what is happening?

I'm a newbie to circuit designs and have a great understanding of the logic, but not when resistors and capacitors are needed.

Thanks

mozikluv

Joined Jan 22, 2004
Originally posted by NCGrimbo@Aug 24 2005, 02:34 PM
Hi all. I wanted to add an on/off switch to the LED Sequencer experiment. I got a lighted, 12V rocker switch from Radio Shack and connected the ground plug to the ground on the battery, the middle power plug to the positive on the battery, and the remaining plug went to power input for the circuit. IE: The switch sits between the battery and the 1M Ohm resistor on the picture.

I have alegator clips on the battery terminals and when I run the circuit with the new switch, the clip on the negative terminal of the battery gets hot. I assume that this is not a good thing. Any hints on what is happening?

I'm a newbie to circuit designs and have a great understanding of the logic, but not when resistors and capacitors are needed.

Thanks
[post=9898]Quoted post[/post]​
hi,