Voice recoginition

kunal juneja

Joined Mar 6, 2012
HIIII guys i am making a voice recoginition software using matlab .....i have given a project for training but i am new in this as i know very little about it ...please guys help me out in this please

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
LOL, so true... this is far from trivial, teams of experts were spending tons of time to get this to work.

here are some concerns:

first of all, MATLAB code is interpreted and it is very slow. if you are interested in speech recognition, you will need something with lot's of processing power. interpreter will kill any high$ hardware.

then you need to define constraints (what is to be accomplished).
do you need to recognise 2-3 commands or entire random sentences?

are you expecting to recognise voice of one and same speaker or there is variety of voices that this thing should handle?

is there supposed to be clear indication of begin and end of each word? how will computer know when each word starts and ends?

in a simplest form, basic FFT could be enough to distinguish few commands.
FFT gives you frequency spectrum of some time domain signal.

good luck...

kunal juneja

Joined Mar 6, 2012
LOL, so true... this is far from trivial, teams of experts were spending tons of time to get this to work.

here are some concerns:

first of all, MATLAB code is interpreted and it is very slow. if you are interested in speech recognition, you will need something with lot's of processing power. interpreter will kill any high$ hardware.

then you need to define constraints (what is to be accomplished).
do you need to recognise 2-3 commands or entire random sentences?

are you expecting to recognise voice of one and same speaker or there is variety of voices that this thing should handle?

is there supposed to be clear indication of begin and end of each word? how will computer know when each word starts and ends?

in a simplest form, basic FFT could be enough to distinguish few commands.