VGA to composite RCA cable

Thread Starter

OzSkunk

Joined Jul 7, 2013
13
Hi there guys...
Ive searched google high and low but to no avail. ..

My laptop has tv out through the vga port capability..but I have no cable..I know I can buy a cable but would rather make one...

Q. What pins on the 15pin vga connector need to be joined?

Im guessing the 3 rgb outputs go to the centre pin on the rca..and the earths go to the outer of the rca..

Cheers
 

Thread Starter

OzSkunk

Joined Jul 7, 2013
13
Yes looked at hundreds of pages..and theyre all the same...half saying it cant be done or buy one or u need a convertor etc etc...diagrams for component (not composite) or b/w etc...

Its so basic but theres no clear info out there...
 

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
27,175
You can electronically combine the RGB signals along with the HSYNC and VSYNC to give you B/W composite.

You cannot do the same to produce colour because you need to produce luminance and chrominance and you have to add colour burst signal.
 

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
1,316
Hi there guys...
Ive searched google high and low but to no avail. ..

My laptop has tv out through the vga port capability..but I have no cable..I know I can buy a cable but would rather make one...

Q. What pins on the 15pin vga connector need to be joined?

Im guessing the 3 rgb outputs go to the centre pin on the rca..and the earths go to the outer of the rca..

Cheers
Ref: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VGA_connector

Your PC Cannot have TV Out on the VGA 'D' Port. The 15 pin connector will connect to only a display that has a 'D' connector.

The signal levels on the EGA connector are Digital (0/5 Volts) whereas your TV input will be 1.0 V p-p (+.7 Video, -.3 Blanking)

TV out can be on a RCA (composite video) or 'S' video output; and in some cases SCART.

You will need to process the VGA output as MrChips has stated to derive a 'S' video out.

Ref: http://www.wikihow.com/Use-Your-TV-As-a-Computer-Monitor

Ramesh
 

Paul Kerry

Joined Jan 9, 2012
36
It depends on which pin your laptops chipset uses when set to TV out, this is why I originally suggested your manufacturer. You may have to buy the correct cable for your machine if you can not find the information. Most laptops I've seen have an RCA socket on them for TV OUT, if it's supported.

The driver may support TV out, but the hardware may not. It is not unknown for there to be one driver that supports several versions of one chipset. If your chipset does not have TV OUT, then the circuit by MrChips is the only way I can see of doing it.
 

Thread Starter

OzSkunk

Joined Jul 7, 2013
13
It depends on which pin your laptops chipset uses when set to TV out, this is why I originally suggested your manufacturer. You may have to buy the correct cable for your machine if you can not find the information. Most laptops I've seen have an RCA socket on them for TV OUT, if it's supported.

The driver may support TV out, but the hardware may not. It is not unknown for there to be one driver that supports several versions of one chipset. If your chipset does not have TV OUT, then the circuit by MrChips is the only way I can see of doing it.
Yes thats how I thought it was done...buy using some of the unused pins..but then I changed to the idea it is combined. .

Heres the pinout..not sure if its different or not
 

Attachments

Paul Kerry

Joined Jan 9, 2012
36
The Dell Vostro 1200 does not mention anywhere in the specs that it is TVOUT capable, the only way would be the one suggested by MrChips.

Sorry
 
Top