Very first project - beginner stumped

jayc73

Joined Jan 6, 2014
Hi All,
This is my very first project and I'm not sure if I'm heading in the right direction or not ...

What I'm trying to do is increase DC voltage.

What I'm working with;
I have a DC power supply generating aprox.15kv @ 0.5A
a power input point or destination point
an obstacle - 5k ohm resistor

In a nut shell, I have 15kv - 15kv , departure and destination if you will.
I'm aiming for 15kv - 30kv or there abouts

The problem I think I'm faced with is there is a 5k ohm resistor I can not physically work around / bypass and must remain in place as it is a noise suppressor .

In other words, all voltage supplied must pass through a 5k ohm resistor to reach the "destination point".

I'm pretty sure using a 30kv capacitor will bump the voltage up but what options do I have with the resistor ?

Thanks in advance,
Jay

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Something is not right here. You are working with a PSU generating 15kV @ 0.5A?

What are you, a ghost coming back from the grave?

That thing is lethal. Get some professional help pronto.

jayc73

Joined Jan 6, 2014
Thanks for the warm welcome ....

Not quite lethal - its a CDI ignition coil, similar to what you would find under your car bonnet.

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Are you of the belief that 1/2 amp at 15,000 volts is not lethal?

Is it because of the low duty cycle?

I believe you mentioned a capacitor. Could that be dangerous?:confused:

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
Thanks for the warm welcome ....

Not quite lethal - its a CDI ignition coil, similar to what you would find under your car bonnet.
Then it won't deliver anywhere near 15 kV @ 1/2 A. It might draw 1/2A on the primary (12V side) but the current on the HV side is reduced by at least 100X.