Using Mosfet Driver

Leorenzo

Joined Sep 21, 2013
Hello!
This is my first time using a mosfet driver for my project that's why I want to see if what I'm doing is right.

I just need to turn on and off the mosfets from my microcontroller and it will just short it directly to the ground for a high current result. I will be using this for my spot welder project.

Here is the schematic:

Sorry if the schematic is not that clear.
I uploaded the datasheets of the driver and the mosfets. Thanks :)

Attachments

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi,
The IRFP2907 requires a Gate driver voltage of ~12V in order to ensure that its switched ON 'hard'.
The MOSFET's also require a low value balancing Source resistors to ensure that the 3 FET's currents are 'balanced', ie: ideally each carrying a third of the total load current.

What load current does the spot welder draw.?
E.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi Leo,
This LTSpice simulation shows the effect of using a Vgs over the range of +5V thru +12V.

Note: plotted total current and the dissipation in M2 MOSFET.

Used a IRF2907 as substitute for IRFP2907.
E

Attachments

AfdhalAtiffTan

Joined Nov 20, 2010
Agreed with ericgibbs,

The driver might need 12V supply as your mosfet is not a logic-level mosfet.

Some kind of a series-resistor might also needed for each gate of the mosfet, to avoid the driver being overloaded by the capacitive load.

Leorenzo

Joined Sep 21, 2013
Ooh I guess I misunderstood the datasheet. I thought this driver can compensate for the lack of voltage of uC to drive non-logic mosfets with just 5V. Maybe by changing the supply voltage of the driver between 12V-18V(which is the driver's maximum supply voltage) I can properly drive the mosfet?

I find it hard to implement the source resistance needed since I needed to produce as much current as I could for a good weld and looking for a small resistance with a high enough wattage would be hard?