Using DPDT Switch To Control All Three Colors Of An RGB LED

jpalarchio

Joined Feb 2, 2010
I've been lurking for a while and I'm a complete newbie that's learning more every day by reading this forum.

I have a project where I'm using a center-off DPDT switch that is controlling a relay on one side and on the other side I would like to use an RGB LED to indicate status.

When the switch is up ("auto" for my project), I would like to light the blue LED.

When the switch is in the center position ("off" for my project), I would like to light the red LED.

When the switch is down ("manual on" for my project), I would like to light the green LED.

Unfortunately my lack of experience has me stuck in that I can't figure out how to light the "auto" or "manual on" LED without lighting the "off" LED at the same time.

Seems like I should be able to do this through some kind of combination of diodes but I've yet to come up with anything.

Any assistance in this area would be greatly appreciated. It seems like I need some type of logic to block the voltage to the red LED when either of the others is lit.

Last edited:

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
1. What is your power supply voltage, and
2. how much current do you want to run through each LED?

EDIT: Do you have a part number for the RGB LED?

jpalarchio

Joined Feb 2, 2010
Thanks Ron.

I can't say I completely understand how it all works just yet but I'm doing some reading and it's another learning point for me.

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
Looking at this more, it was suggested to me that it could possibly be done more easily with a NOR gate.

Any ideas?
That will work, but it takes more than a NOR gate. I am not too thrilled with someone who throws out an idea without a schematic. Have your suggestor provide a schematic, and post it here.

jpalarchio

Joined Feb 2, 2010
Unfortunately I don't have a schematic, it was just a thought tossed out.