using digi-pot with 555 timer

reinvention

Joined May 1, 2014
Hi all, i searched but couldn't find anything similar enough.
i'm looking to interface a capacitance touch panel (TTP224) with a digital potentiometer (MCP4011) with a 555 to pulse the output.

I need to pulse the +V or the 0V but not together, how can i make the MCP4011 digi-pot see only high or low pulses from a 555 timer? will a simple blocking diode be sufficient? this is just at the planning stage so far. Thanks all. (i'm a bit of a newbie)

reinvention

Joined May 1, 2014
if you were wondering.... i'm making a non-contact volume control, the pulse output (about 7-10Hz) from the Cmos 555 after the touch panel will adjust the volume quickly instead of me tapping the touch sensor. Thanks.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Can you sketch out what you're planning? This makes no sense to me.

You can't pulse voltage without changing voltage, so I don't follow what you asked for.

OK, I see you want multiple pulses after a single touch. How will the device know when to stop?

reinvention

Joined May 1, 2014
sorry for being vague, the capacitance touch panel puts a high output i figure that can power the Cmos 555 (or using a transistor), i want to set the 555's to astable mode at about 10Hz. i will use one touch output as +volume and another output as -volume each having a seperate 555.... so i need one to oscillate as high/open for +vol and the other as low/open for -vol.... the normal 555 output is high/low which means the digipot will just bounce back and forth instead of up or down.
if i read the spec sheet properly, the digital potentiometer changes on reading a high or a low on the input pin, this needs to be released before additional changes apply.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Ah, OK, thanks. I think the first thing I'd do is experiment with that to confirm that a diode will in fact give the result you need.