Using a digital multimeter

Then along came a dummy

Joined Jun 24, 2005
Hi guys,

Don't flame me for this one but i need your opinion on whether my digital mulimeter is broken or if i'm not using it correctly. I am still new at this and am trying to learn electronics on my free time.

I have a digital multimeter from a buddy (He wasn't interested in electronics). It is not auto ranging.

For a 100,000 ohm resistor (5% tolerance) i set the range to 200k and tough the leads. I use alligator clips for this. The reading is 98.7. This means the resistor is actually 98,7000 ohms right? That is to say i am to take the reading on the screen and set it to the thousandth place right?

I also tried to measure the resistance between my hands by holding the meter leads in each hand. The display indicated a "1" until i ranged the meter on the 2M range which ten listed 1.719. Isn't this kind of strange? The range below the 2M range is 200k and below that it is 20k. So could it really be possible that my resistance would be above the 200k range? Do you think the reading is accurate?

Again, my experience is too limited to be sure, but i would think that resistance between my hands would be around 10k to 20k right? Why did i have to range it to 2M before i registered a reading?

Thanks to anyone who can help me on this.

Best
TACD

pebe

Joined Oct 11, 2004
Originally posted by Then along came a dummy@Jul 27 2005, 04:34 PM
Hi guys,

Don't flame me for this one but i need your opinion on whether my digital mulimeter is broken or if i'm not using it correctly. I am still new at this and am trying to learn electronics on my free time.

I have a digital multimeter from a buddy (He wasn't interested in electronics). It is not auto ranging.