Using 2-SPST switches to control a linear actuator

Racer189

Joined Feb 5, 2013
I'm a newbie here and have searched to no avail for the answer to my question. First off, my knowledge of electronics is limited so I apologize in advance if there's a simple answer to my problem. This is going to be in a marine endurance racing application so my goal is to keep things as simple and reliable as possible. Some of my fellow competitors are using a reversing solenoid commonly found in winches but I'm not a big fan of solenoids and hope there's another way other than going with a single dpdt (on)-off-(on) switch which I've used before..

This actuator is used to control my front wings or Canards for lift as you can see in the attached picture. . I would like to run this actuator in both directions using 2 separate and simple spst off-(on) push button switches. One button would extend the actuator and the other would retract it.

components:
1- 12vdc linear actuator, max 3 amps. http://www.lectrotab.com/products/standard-actuators.php
Note: the actuator doesn't have limit switches and it will be visually operated so we don't use them.

Thanks in advance. :)

Attachments

chuckey

Joined Jun 4, 2007
You need two 12V relays as well. Take the "up" switch wire it to the coil of one relay, the switch then goes to +12 V and the other side of the coil goes to earth. When you push "UP", the relay pulls in. So take your two wires from the actuator and connect them to two moving contacts (rated at 3 A). Find which contacts are made to the previous moveable ones when the relay is energised, wire these to +12 and earth. When the "UP" button is pushed make sure the actuator goes UP. Copy all the wiring to the other relay/switch, making sure that the +12/earth wires are crossed over to their contacts. Test push "down", "down" relay should pull in, motor should run downwards. Sit down and have a beer. :)
Frank

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009