Use of Capacitors

dalydir

Joined Sep 7, 2012
This is my first time posting and I hope this is rather simple.

Here is my example:

Take a 220pf capacitor, of 20kv.

Now, from what I've read that means something along the lines of, that the capacitor's potential (voltage) will increase at a rate of 1 volt a second when 220 trillionths of an amp is applied to it.

Here's the issue I haven't been able to resolve:

Does this mean it would take 20k seconds to fully charge aforementioned capacitor?

All measurements I've read regarding charging capacitors do NOT reference the voltage of electricity being applied to it. I'm not looking to charge this thing with extreme amperages (I want the result to be exceedingly low amperage, as this is a pretty high and potentially dangerous voltage).

Does the voltage applied to the capacitor hold significance? Or is it just the amperage? And what if the amperage is like .05 amps (much greater than this one is rated for in farads)? What difference do these things make?

Why?
This is an experiment and has nothing to do with an existing circuit and is also my attempt at understanding capacitors better than what I've been able to ascertain on the internet. I'm not necessarily going to DO this or use a similar capacitor to what I've described, as I need to understand this better first. Its not that I don't entirely understand the equations that I find, but I'm unable to find full examples of the equations in actual numbers and explanations of variances (variances of amperages and or voltages of the input voltage).

Thank you for any help

fila

Joined Feb 14, 2011
Time to charge a capacitor depends on the time constant of the circuit. It is usually in the form of

τ = R * C

where τ is the time constant, R is resistance and C is capacitance. In theory you can charge the capacitor instantly by directly placing a voltage supply across it's leads (don't do this).