use Ethernet to test circuit

abelcorver

Joined Apr 10, 2010
Hey everyone,
I'm very new to electronics, and one of my biggest issues is ensuring that part A of my circuit works, so that I can test part B without problems. Also, often I need to simulate some other part, because I´m not able to quickly build it (if at all).

That's why I came up with the idea to use the 8 wires of the Ethernet cable to send signals to specific positions in my circuit, and test it this way. I've found some drivers that are hopefully going to allow me to send single bytes out...

However, since there're only 8 wires, there doesn't seem to be a + and ground wire. So I was wondering, how can electricity possibly begin to flow from the "signal wires", since there's no ground...

Does anyone know how this works?

Regards,
Abel.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
I am not sure about what you are trying to do, it is often hard to describe electronics with words only. Could post some schematics, as it would help us to give you a proper answer.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_over_Ethernet

POE or Power Over Ethernet may be what you are thinking of.

What may be confusing you is, ethernet only uses 2 wires for communication. 1 for RECEIVE and 1 for TRANSMIT.

You can use the a protocol like RS232 to transmit, by combining your raw binary data as packets. This may be easier (and inexpensive) to get you moving. Look up the MAX232 IC.

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
10MBit or 100MBit Ethernet uses two Pairs of wires, one for transmit and one for receive. (Gigabit uses two pairs each way).

The data pairs use differential drivers and receivers, and are transformer coupled at each end.

The only thing an ethernet port can do is send bursts of data at 10MBit or higher, you cannot control individual signals.