Use 12-19v signal

ejim

Joined Nov 3, 2013
Hi all!

I am an amateur in electronics and want to learn by doing a project. :D

Currently I want to set up automatic signalling for my Märklin tracks (well... future Märklin tracks).

Whenever a train is on a section of track a 12v alternating current is activated and I want to use this current to control whether the signal is red or not and whether to send a signal to the next piece of track signalling occupancy.

In the future I want to keep track of my trains with an Arduino board or something similar.

Please find the attached image. I measured the input alternating current to about 17v (this is from the Märklin transformator so I can't change it) and the output direct current to 19v.

I guess the increase is due to the capacitor used, I think .473μF.

Please help me with my next step.

Attachments

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Whenever a train is on a section of track a 12v alternating current is activated and I want to use this current to control whether the signal is red or not and whether to send a signal to the next piece of track signalling occupancy..
I am afraid I do not understand this part. Need a bit of more details.

As for the 19VDC u are getting from the 17VAC. It is due to low value smoothing cap u are using. If u need to smoothed DC, you will need a bigger cap, which in turn will increase the DC to about 24VDC.

Ur diagram is OK for what it is. Just a bridge and filter cap. It's standard full wave rectifier with smoothing cap.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
To size the filter capacitor, we need to know what the DC output from your bridge/cap is connected to?

Presumably, you will be using LEDs as signal lights, so the current requirement will be small. ALso, LEDs dont care if there is ripple, so the capacitor might not even be needed?

ejim

Joined Nov 3, 2013
Thank you for your replies.

I can see my description is a bit unclear. I'll try do clear it up a bit.

There is an attached image.