USB Switch?? - Connect / Disconnect Signal

steelxangel

Joined May 13, 2013
Hi, I am trying to control the ignition and disconnect a USB device via a button.

My problem is not knowing that transistor or what? I can use it to perform, before hand thank you very much for the help, I'm new to this, Regards

Attachments

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Hi, I am trying to control the ignition and disconnect a USB device via a button.
Could you rephrase that? I don't get what you are trying to accomplish.

It sounds like you want to disconnect a device with a switch instead of unplugging it. Sine USB has just 4 wires inside you just need break those connections (and you could leave the ground wire connected).

rsfoto

Joined May 14, 2013
Hi,

That is exactly what I want to do also. A friend made a test already just by cutting one of the wires be it the ground or +5V but he got noise in the signal.

I was thinking in using a reed relay like the MD-12Thttp://www.sterenshopusa.com/catalog/prod.asp?f=0&sf=0&c=107&p=2343&desc=12-vdc-coil--1-pole---1-throw-spst--dip-reed-electronic-relay

but after thinking a while maybe due to the magnet inside I get also noise in the data line.

Now I am thinking of eventually using an optocoupler but do not know how to wire it. Also many optocouplers do not allow a through current maybe higher then 200mamp.

Can I drive a Transistor as switch with the optocoupler but here again I have the problem of how to wire it.

This will be used in an remote controlled astronomical observatory.

Any help is appreciated.

regards Raienr

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
Last year I developed a multi-port usb hub for testing gsm dongles, and the only thing that was needed was to switch the +5V line. I used some P-channel mosfet, but even a simple mechanical switch should work fine.