USB/Optocoupler controlling a solenoid

rafaelluizmesquita

Joined Aug 8, 2013
Hey guys,

I am a physicist, not micro electronics experience whatsoever, and my adviser said that I should put together a circuit that could make a solenoid (24V) open with a USB 5V signal. This solenoid will serve as a shutter for a laser we are using to calibrate an instrument we have.

After a few hours on the computer I found that the Optocoupler 4N25 would be the way to go. Actually I thought it would be straight forward, and went ahead and bought the thing.

I got it three days ago, and after almost 24 hours of restless work, I still haven't make the circuit to work.

I have a breadboard, a couple of multimeters, a computer and a dc regulated power supply. It would be no problem at all for me to shut down a USB port and turn it on again to send the signal.

here is the datasheet: http://www.vishay.com/docs/83725/4n25.pdf

What should I do? I am trying to organize like this image attached... Am I doing something wrong?

Can someone show me how to do it... I am really desperate!...

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I am trying to organize like this image attached... Am I doing something wrong?
I don't see an image. I think your approach should work fine but it's hard to tell what went wrong without a diagram or photo. Note Max's question about the solenoid 24V supply. You said you have a DC power supply. Can we assume that the solenoid functions with 24VDC?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
The image I see is of a 4n25 opto, extra components would include a resistor for the emitter calculated at 10ma 5v =500ohm. and an output load resistor and either power fet or bi-polar transistor drive for the solenoid if DC, dependent on the solenoid current.
Max.

rafaelluizmesquita

Joined Aug 8, 2013
Actually you can get these complete components off the shelf, look for SSR (Solid State Relay) many made by the likes of Opto22.