USB Interface

shearder

Joined Apr 20, 2009
Hi All

I am new to this site and searches i have tried haven't given me what i want IF it is here already - is so, my apologies.

Well, I am new to Programming and PIC controllers but i am really wanting to get into this so i can start making my own equipment.

Let me give you a short description of what i want to do:

I want to make a USB interface that I can program to act as an input device to the PC and output to 7seg LED or LCD. It can be 2 separate interfaces.

So I hope someone can point me in the right direction in terms of CHEAPEST but good route - what IC to use etc.

Many thanks in advance.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
You could use a PIC with specific USB hardware 18F4550(??), not sure about the part number or you could take a look at the MAX3420E and adapt that peripheral chip to any processor with an SPI port which gives you a wider choice of parts. Download the documents from www.usb.org for the protocol description. I'm guessing you want to enumerate as an HID (Human Interface Device) It will cost some bucks to get a vendor ID so a PC will recognize the device. I strongly recommend that you get a Beagle USB analyzer from Totalphase for $400.00 if you plan on doing any USB development in conjunction with a PC

shearder

Joined Apr 20, 2009
It will cost some bucks to get a vendor ID so a PC will recognize the device. I strongly recommend that you get a Beagle USB analyzer from Totalphase for $400.00 if you plan on doing any USB development in conjunction with a PC
Do i need a vendor ID even if it is for my own personal use? i don't want to sell this stuff...

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006