Urgh ... Homework project maybe?

SlowCoder

Joined Mar 25, 2012
Ok, so I'm currently stuck reading my Radio Shack electronics books and building electronic by the book. Unfortunately, I feel like I'm not getting the practical knowledge I need to move forward with developing my own circuits.

As I stated before, I am very hands-on learning. Book reading and instructions following often leave me empty. So, I'm hoping it's ok to ask for some homework from you guys. Something simple and practical, that will require me to do some equations. Of course I'll ask some questions during the process.

You guys up for it? What kind of small circuit should I attempt to build? Remember I'm VERY beginner here. But I think this will help.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I was just in a Radio Shack the other day and was delighted to see a decent assortment of kits, from simple flashing LEDs to some real micro controllers. You may try looking thru some of those and find something you like.

Even the simplest of kits can teach you something practical.

SlowCoder

Joined Mar 25, 2012
What type of stuff have you built from the Radio Shack book?
Well, I'm up to about page 50 in the workbook (1) for my project kit. I build the circuit from instructions and it works. Yay! Then I look at the associated schematic, and I try to understand why it works. And that's where I'm doing a whole lot of head scratching. I can even build the circuits looking directly as the schematic. But I still don't understand enough of the "why".

I was just in a Radio Shack the other day and was delighted to see a decent assortment of kits, from simple flashing LEDs to some real micro controllers. You may try looking thru some of those and find something you like.

Even the simplest of kits can teach you something practical.
I have a kit. It has plenty of projects, but I think I need to go a different direction.