urgent help plz

MAZAR SCIENTIST

Joined May 8, 2008
Hy I'm Mohamed and I'm studying electronics engineering and i wanna do my project after 2 years as a Robot plz.
i wanna members here tell me what i should read and do to reach that thing
should i begin firstly with micro controlling OR WAT I SHOULD READ AND LEARN BEFORE DOING THAT?

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Hy I'm Mohamed and I'm studying electronics engineering and i wanna do my project after 2 years as a Robot plz.
i wanna members here tell me what i should read and do to reach that thing
should i begin firstly with micro controlling OR WAT I SHOULD READ AND LEARN BEFORE DOING THAT?
Personally, i think you have to learn programming microprocessors as to know what they are able to do. Then study about various kinds of sensors which can be used for the robot. Finally, you should learn some mechanisms the robots use to move and combine your knowledge about microcontrollers and sensors to make your project.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Form follows function. You'll need to decide what you want your robot does before putting anything down on paper.

Caveman

Joined Apr 15, 2008
How much time do you have? I'm a big believer of a bunch of baby steps on stuff like this. You can get help by reading sources about other peoples robots (and you should), but getting hands on experience is really good for your engineering education.

First you need to play with a microcontroller enough to understand how to get it working at a very basic level, like blinking an led. Then you need to learn how to run a motor with it. This will require some external circuitry as well. After this, you will know what you can and cannot easily do, so you start to put together the plan for the full robot.

Or...you could just try to jump in the deep end and build it from scratch. It probably won't work at first (if ever) and will be frustrating to try to debug (if possible at all).

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005