University Project..Need some help

martgreg

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Hi guys !!!

I was wondering if anyone could be kind enough to give me some ideas or inspiration, guidance direction ..

I want to make a personal fan ...After plugging it in, i would like it to be started up buy spinning the fan blades. Stopping it buy grabbing or impeding the blades...

the blades are soft and moving slowly..so there should be any loss of limbs...:)

so i thought i could use a centrifugal switch, or 2 or three mercury switches connected at angles....

I am a complete newb when it comes to electronics so anything more than connecting a few off the the shelf products and soldering them together will be a challenge for me so as of right now my goal is simpler the better....

right now I am trying to gather info and find out as much info as possible...

Right now I dont know where to source parts or even the correct names for what I am looking for

I have a little over a month to complete this project and time is as usual of the essecne (sp)

So any info would be great..

thanks in advance

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
The greenies won't let us use mercury switches any more. You could try an accelerometer. Not sure how one would couple signals & power between the rotating bits and the stationary bits. Perhaps a custom wound transformer on the fan shaft would suffice. (Could be quite a challenge for a beginner.)

Another approach might be to use an encoder of some kind on the shaft of the fan. Signal out from the encoder would trigger power on, and lack of signal would trigger power off. If a quadrature encoder is used, one could have a reversible fan.

Some terms for Googling:
"accelerometer"
"shaft encoder"
"quadrature encoder"

martgreg

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I didnt know they got rid of mercury tilt switches...