Understanding Power Requirements in MCU Applications

afhaque89

Joined Mar 8, 2011
Hi all! Let me begin by saying I am a newbie, who having built a pressure sensing prototype using an arduino, is now trying to build a standalone pressure sensor.

My major challenge right now is trying to reduce the size of the overall prototype to where I can ideally run off of coin cell batteries or 3 AAs.

But I really don't think I understand the process of evaluating the power needs of a given project. Most of the newb resources just assume a 5V power supply...

What would be most helpful for me is if somebody could walk me through how in this project the author knows to use a 5V power source. I looked at the datasheets of all components used and couldn't quite figure this out.
(My project seems most similar to this one):

http://www.avrprojects.net/index.ph...ter&catid=38:avr-projects-with-leds&Itemid=58

For reference:

Attiny2313 VCC: 1.8 - 5.5V
TCN75 (Temp Sensor) Operating Voltage: 2.7 - 5.5V
Individual LEDs Forward voltage (whatever that means?): 1.8V
LED Forward Current: 30mA

All help is seriously appreciated!

afhaque89

Joined Mar 8, 2011
Well... there are a few ways I can look at the run time.

Ideal scenario #1: As long as possible (Up to a month of continuous run)

Less ideal scenario: For about a week of continuous run

Best worst case scenario: It needs to work for 2 hours at a time, with an on/off switch.

----------------------------------------------

This is going to sound stupid... but how do I figure out how long any specific set of batteries will last in my kind of configuration?

And secondly... why "Ahh" against LED display? Is there a better (more power efficient option)?

blueroomelectronics

Joined Jul 22, 2007
LCD displays are much more efficient but are driven differently than LED displays. Some PICs like the 16F917 have a LCD glass driver built in, not sure how you'd do it with an arduino.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006