understanding operational amplifier

PG1995

Joined Apr 15, 2011
Hi

Please note that I'm a beginner so please keep your replies simple and straightforward so that you could be understood and your effort fully appreciated. Thank you.

1: Why is operational amplifier or op-amp so called? Is there also something like non-operational amplifier?

2: As I see it operational amplifier could be modified to do different things with the input signal. For instance, it could be designed into an inverting amplifier, non-inverting amplifier, etc.

3: Is a simple oscillator also made from an op-amp?

4: Can you please provide me some link which shows me in images that how different type of amplifier, such as inverting amplifier or differential amplifier, affects the input signal? The Wikipedia page only gives math formulas.

Thank you very much for your help and time.

Best wishes
PG

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
1: Why is operational amplifier or op-amp so called? Is there also something like non-operational amplifier?
You will need to delve into the history of operational amplifiers and how they came to be. Here is a good reference:
http://www.analog.com/static/import... Amp Applications Book (PDF)/P2 ChH_final.pdf
The name "Operational Amplifier" was assigned to that general class of amplifiers in 1947.

2: As I see it operational amplifier could be modified to do different things with the input signal. For instance, it could be designed into an inverting amplifier, non-inverting amplifier, etc.
Yes, they are very versatile (flexible) which is why they are so commonly used.

3: Is a simple oscillator also made from an op-amp?
They certainly can be. Texas Instruments has at least one application note for various sine-wave oscillators using operational amplifiers.
Here is the relevant chapter from the application note:
http://www.ti.com/lit/ml/sloa087/sloa087.pdf