Understanding Headphone-Jack Circuitry

phnord

Joined May 29, 2013
I'm trying to get a better understanding of how the circuitry of a headphone jack works for a project I'm building. Here's where I'm confused.

From what I understand, a standard TRS jack carrying stereo audio will have the the Tip carry the left audio, the Ring carry the right audio and the Sleeve act as a shield. It is also my understanding that the audio carried along the first two is comprised of basically an alternating current that is representative in its frequency of the audio signal.

Now here's where my confusion is... wouldn't each channel need not one but two wires in order to make a complete circuit? And if not, how can the electricity flow without a complete circuit?

Keep in mind I am just now revisiting the topic of electronics; for all intents and purposes, assume that I have no prior knowledge of circuitry outside of how a battery powers a lightbulb.

Thank you!

- Andy :)

Trimalchio

Joined May 3, 2013
Yes, each channel/phone does need two connections (whether it's ac or dc), but one connection on each can be shared by both channels - what you call the "shield" is the shared second connection for both channels. So you need just three wires - 1) left signal wire; 2)right signal wire; 3) shared left & right signal return wire (usually grounded).

phnord

Joined May 29, 2013
Thank you, trimalchio - that's very helpful.

I'm still struggling a little with some basic concepts regarding circuitry, voltage, current and grounding. If either you or someone else would help shed some light on this for me, I would greatly appreciate it.