ultralite355 mobility scooter

karenbluebell

Joined Jul 17, 2011
new to this and not technnically minded at all , purchase the scooter under the impression it just need a new battery.
although the battery charger is showing the batteries full, the gauge on the battery pack and the scooter itself says they are flat ? can anyone give me some sort of idea what could be the problem before i pass it to an enginere who will charge me a small fortune, i may be able to repair this myself if i have an idea of what the problem could be.
please can you also talk in laymans terms as as i said im not an electrician or mechanic, thanks in advice to anyone who is willing to help me out :confused:

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
That's a little like asking "My car won't start. What's wrong?". OK, maybe not quite as bad, but obviously more information is needed to help troubleshoot it. There are folks on this forum who are good troubleshooters and are generous with their time, so your chances of getting useful information are good -- but only if you give as much information as possible about the scooter, be willing to take pictures and follow troubleshooting instructions, and be patient (realize you might get conflicting or wrong opinions, so you have to sort the wheat from the chaff).

The first step in problem solving is always to make sure you have a crystal-clear problem statement. It sounds like yours is "After I connect the charger to the scooter, it says the battery is charged, but the scooter doesn't run." Make SURE the problem statement is focused on the correct problem (the classic statement is "make sure you drain the right swamp when hunting alligators"). In other words, you have to make sure we're all working on the right problem. Don't laugh, as it's quite common for people to work on the wrong problem.