Tuning fork oscillator, any ideas?

kcin

Joined Oct 19, 2009
I'm a visual artist (never studied electronics but can read a circuit diagram and do build stuff) and I work also lot with sound. I'm making a work that uses 2 tuning forks with mirrors on the tines. As the forks vibrate a laser beam reflects off the mirrors and projects lisajous patterns. I have been having problems driving the forks in a reliable way. I used a simple buzzer type circuit before but the contacts burn out over time, then I came across the idea of doing it with 2 coils: a drive and pick up type arrangement using a driver and an amp so the electronics put the forks into self-oscillation. I'm struggling to find an overall solution and a simple circuit that will do this and would welcome any suggestions. The forks are about 20cm tall.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Best Nick

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
To turn the fork into an oscillator, you need five things: the fork itself, a sensor to convert the instantaneous position of one of the tines into an electrical signal, a power supply, an amplifier, and finally a method of using an electrical signal to impart movement back into the tines...

Seems like you can take these one at a time.

1. Is the fork made of a ferrous material which will interact with a magnetic field?

If yes, then reluctance based sensing would work. So would a solenoid drive system.

If no, then the sensing could be optical (use the laser directly), acoustic (use an electret mic), capacitive (make the tine one plate of a parallel plate capacitor)...
Driving the tine could be acoustic, ...

This might get the discussion started ;)

flat5

Joined Nov 13, 2008
Perhaps a small motor with a friction wheel could rub the fork. A violin bow technique.

If the fork is steel then I think a coil (or tape head) with an ac signal tuned to approximately the same freq. as the fork placed very close to the fork might excite it.