TS a Kitsrus K188 Voice Recorder

Gdrumm

Joined Aug 29, 2008
I'm troubleshooting a little voice recorder kit from Kitsrus.
It is a K188.

My son soldered all of the resistors, diodes, capacitors, speaker, mic, aux. and power parts into place, and I've tested for voltage at each solder joint, and they all look ok to me.

The instructions were skectchy, and assumed we knew the orientation of the capacitors. The photo provided didn't show capacitor orientation at all.

Has anyone built one of these, and if so, can you share any insights with us?

I'm a novice, but everything looks right to me. We even get the required voltage at pins 1 and 28, on the IC. But the LED never lights up, and the device doesn't work.

Any insights would be helpful, specs can be seen on their web site, WWW.Kitsrus.com/kits/K188 (rightmost lower quadrant).

Thanks, Gary D

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The correct link is:
http://kitsrus.com/pdf/k188.pdf
Having a look...

[eta]
The orientation of the electrolytic caps is clearly shown on the placement diagram. Positive is towards the top of the board.

This is not a beginner's circuit. Improper soldering or electrostatic discharge could quickly kill the main IC.

I don't know what experience level your son has. Proper soldering skills take time to develop. Proper ESD precautions are not obvious to newcomers.

If you can walk across the room and get a shock from a switchplate or doorknob, you have an ESD problem - and it's likely that the IC was destroyed by improper handling.

Last edited:

Gdrumm

Joined Aug 29, 2008
Sgt.

That's probably it, he was joking about ESD when working on his Nephews laptop today (fortunately it still works).

I'll recheck the orientation of the caps, and if no help, I will salvage parts for other projects.

I bought his son (age 7) a Fry's Electronics beginners kit for Christmas. Maybe when he (dad) works on that, he will gain some experience.

Many thanks, and Merry Christmas / Happy New Year!!!