Trying to repair a bigscreen TV

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
Good morning/day/night my international friends. I have scored another free broken TV (the one on the right). The one on the left was my first and it was beyond repair, gave up on it. This new one is only 4 years old and looks much less broken. I have no experience (other than my previous failure) repairing TVs. I thought maybe you all could take a look at the pics and let me know what I'm up against.

The way that all 3 color tubes project the image with the same warp in the middle makes me think that there's a problem with the screen itself or the mirror behind. I took out the mirror and its a metal frame with reflective mylar stretched over it, like an airplane wing. I couldn't see any warp in it, but it may be too miniscule to see with the naked eye. what do you think?

Jotto

Joined Apr 1, 2011
First you need to do the convergence alignment. This is not easy and you will need a pattern generator.

You might have a built in display that might work, not sure about what model it is.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
First you need to do the convergence alignment. This is not easy and you will need a pattern generator.

You might have a built in display that might work, not sure about what model it is.
NOOO! I want this to be easy! crap. Other than a pattern generator (don't know what that is, but I'll look it up), what will I need to do the alignment? Is it a mechanical adjustment? does it require 2 people? As for the model, I will have to get back to you on that. All I know right now is that it's a JVC 52" widescreen projector HDTV, made in '07.

debe

Joined Sep 21, 2010