Trying to measure attributes of DC/DC SMPS

ssb2245

Joined Jul 11, 2011
Hey guys, I am new to these forums. Forgive me if i am a bit rusty on some things. I have basic EE knowledge, and i want to try something.

I have PC motherboards laying around, and well I overclock systems for personal use. What makes a motherboard good for overclocking is how well its power supply is, usually a 12v in and 1-2v out PSU fed by the main AC/DC PSU, which needs to deal with load transients of 100A steps. Sometimes max current pull might be over 200. of course these power supplies are actually built to supply a lot more than that, but how well their output voltage is regulated can tell a lot about how well they are doing. Switching frequency is going to be from 250khz to 1mhz max.

Until now I didn't have a scope at my house to do this testing, i just used them in labs. I have one now, and i want to measure, Peak to peak (ripple), overshoot, undershoot, and whatever else you guys think this basic scope can measure. It only cost me 200 but I read a lot of good reviews about it, its a DSO 2090.

Anyways I have 1x/10x probes, and I was going to use a coaxial cable that is shielded soldered to MLCC caps on the underside of the CPU socket. This is how we measure the voltages with a multimeter.

Anyways i was wondering if i need to compensate the probe or if it shouldn't matter?

Any tips to get the best readings?

billbehen

Joined May 10, 2006
Soldered coax sounds like a good idea. In theory, you need to match the impedance of the cable to that of the oscilloscope. Sometimes scopes have a switch for low impedance measurements with a current probe, so you could use that. Obviously, it depends on the Zo (characterisitc impedance) of the cable, which you can learn from the type of cable, which is usually printed on its insulation.