Trying to make an H-bridge

cremaster

Joined Jun 30, 2010
I want to create an H-bridge to power a 5 volt DC motor. Here are my components:

1. a 5 volt power adapter
2. four toggle switches

I will connect the components in the same way as is represented on this page:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H-bridge

And I will flip the switches manually.
Will that work? Do I need anything else?

I think it will work, but I have very little experience and it seems too simple to be true.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Sure, that will work. However, if you use four SPST switches it will be very easy to accidentally turn on both the high-side and low-side switches, causing a dead short across the power supply. This often results in lots of smoke.

If you used a pair of SPDT switches, with the common terminals connected to opposite ends of the motor, you would prevent such an accident from happening.

In the image below, just imagine that the supply is 5v instead of 10v.

Attachments

Potato Pudding

Joined Jun 11, 2010
DP3T is the minimum I would use for an H bridge.

That gives you forward and reverse with a center motor off position.

Doing the job with transistors is even better.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Well, our OP stated that they have very little experience.

There are many ways to skin the proverbial cat. I wanted to keep things simple for them, to minimize any possibility of confusion - while making it reasonably "goof proof".

If wired correctly, the circuit I posted will allow full speed in either direction, and braking.

The DP3T is widely used for DC motor reversal. However, a single DP3T switch does not provide for braking action in the center off position.

The L293 has been around for years, and is convenient to use. However, that would be somewhat bewildering for a n00b.

Potato Pudding

Joined Jun 11, 2010