Trying to dim LED with POT

Deric

Joined Feb 8, 2010
I got myself into a little jam. I am a mechanical engineering student who tried to do some electrical projects, and got stuck. I have taken circuits classes, but a few years ago, and i am nowhere near an expert in the field, so i need some help.

My girlfriend wanted some blue led strips in her car to make it more exciting. I talked her into buying rgb strips so she could use a remote to select between 12 preset colors. Then i talked her into buying a set without a remote (to reduce cost) and having me build a circuit with potentiometers so she could individually adjust the amount of red, blue, and green on her own, to make any desired color. At that point i was a hero and looked like the smartest guy in the world. Now i am alone doing some trial and error and feeling a bit foolish.

The problem is that i get no adjustment in brightness for the first 85% of a turn of the pot. Then the brightness jumps up to full power. I was hoping to be able to make each color go from 0 to 100% with a single turn of the knob. I want to have three pots, one on the blue line, one on the red, and one on the green, to adjust each individually. Im sure that the pots might be the wrong size or there is more to the circuit.

I guess my question is... How? I have read a few sites and tutorials and it looks like it wont be as simple as i wanted. but i still dont know what to do. What kind of circuit do i need to build? is it even possible to only use a pot and led in series?
Here are the led strips 12v...... http://www.xmeteorlight.com/images/LLS-RGB12S.JPG
and the pots.......................... Bourns 250K http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250561128770&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK:MEWNX:IT

Thanks for any ideas or suggestions.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
How much current are these LEDs taking?

You will likely burn up the pot. You need to interface it to some PWM circuitry.

Have you read this?