Troubleshooting a 1Hz time base

kurtruk

Joined Aug 26, 2012
So I have assembled the schematic on a perfboard, but when I turn it on the LEd is solid instead of blinking. It is my first time soldering, but I've closely examined all my joints and they look ok. The resistor and capacitor values are a bit crazy because I didn't have the exact value. What I am thinking is that basically the LED soldity just means the 4013 is working. So how would I attempt to trouble shoot this?

Here is the 4060 data sheet: http://html.alldatasheet.com/html-pdf/11960/ONSEMI/MC14060BCP/940/5/MC14060BCP.html

Attachments

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
I don't see any LED in the schematic.

Are you sure that the oscillator frequency should be 1Hz? It looks to me like it would be several kHz, in which case an LED would be flashing much too fast to see, and would appear to be on continuously.

kurtruk

Joined Aug 26, 2012
I don't see any LED in the schematic.

Are you sure that the oscillator frequency should be 1Hz? It looks to me like it would be several kHz, in which case an LED would be flashing much too fast to see, and would appear to be on continuously.
The LED is connected to the output (pin1) of the 4013. As far as frequency isn't a 32768/2^15=1 because the 4060 has 14 counting stages and the 4013 is another so 15 stages should equal 1hz, right? How did you come up with several kHz?

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
The capacitors aren't adding up. :)
Capacitors in series/parallel work opposite of resistors.
You could try using just a 33pf instead of a 39 and three 33's in series to make 11 (10) pf. And sometimes caps in series are iffy.

Last edited:

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
And all those resistors and capacitors wired on a perfboard probably have all sorts of nasty capacitance from the layout. I would bet it's not oscillating.

kurtruk

Joined Aug 26, 2012