Trap circuit help pls...

bio88

Joined Feb 17, 2011
I invented a high tech bird trap that uses an IR break beam to trigger a small solenoid tethered to a battery box with a SLA 12V Batt.

The electronics portion was subcontracted out to a friend (I'm a noob with circuit skills) and what he delivered was a nice package. However,

I'm getting only about 36 hours battery time in armed mode. There needs to be more like 100 hours.

If a SLA is used indoors to power a trap does it have to meet a code? I don't want to burn a place down or anything. Maybe the battery box needs to be rated or something...

Any help appreciated -

Last edited:

praondevou

Joined Jul 9, 2011
Can you post battery capacity?

Which part in your circuit consumes the most current in armed mode?

If the beam is always on, I could imagine that it's the beam that consumes most. If it's always on, then you could try to use short pulses of a few kHz to shorten the time the IR transmitter remains ON.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Well, unfortunately it's going to be difficult to offer much advice without access to a schematic and parts list, but you probably don't want to place them in the public domain by uploading them here.

If a solenoid is being kept energized the entire time that the trap is armed, then I'll suggest that the design needs a bit of re-work. Solenoids and relays are power-gobbling devices; but in your project a solenoid or something similar will be necessary to spring the trap.