Translating PWM from 5v to 10v

ill_switch

Joined Mar 8, 2010
Hello forum,

This is my first post here, looking for advice because I've had trouble getting a consistent answer from other sources. I'm a self-taught hobbyist who no doubt is missing a grasp on some basic concepts, so forgive me if this is poorly worded.

I have a controller (Arduino with ATMega 328p) that can generate a 5v PWM signal at ~500Hz. I need to translate that into a 10v PWM signal to control an LED driver (Meanwell ELN series) that expects a 10v PWM signal. The current requirement is small, it's just a signal to the LED driver.

I need to do six of these circuits, on each of the Arduino's PWM-capable pins.

Out of my own ignorance, I came up with this:

Basically, I take a raw voltage from the Vin pin on the left and convert it to 10v with the voltage regulator and caps on the left. I provide the +10v to the header in the middle of the circuit. On the right, each of the 6 PWM pins is connected through a resistor to an NPN transistor that switches the second of each pair of pins from the jumper to GND. So, each of the 6 circuits swtch from floating to grounded.

I posted on one forum and people seemed happy that it would work fine.

On another forum, several users suggested I instead use a MOSFET to switch between a resistor to pull the signal up to 10v (when the FET is off) or grounding it (when it's on) because this would provide switching between "known 10v and gound" instead of leaving the circuit floating when it's off.

Any thoughts on which approach is "best?" Or should I start from scratch with some other approach? If I'm missing info please tell me and I'll provide it if I can.

ill_switch

Joined Mar 8, 2010
If you add a 10K to GND for every input as shown near R1 in the attached, it will hold the xstr off whenever the input is missing.