Transistors-Please help

mohiuddin1111

Joined Apr 28, 2013
Guys, i am new here.
i have a toy r/c car.
it works on 6v. i am feeding it 7.2v. what the problem is it stopped forward-back button working. changed transistor (that switches on the motor ) and it worked . but, now the spinning force of the motor is a alot less. the pair of transistors it uses are ml8550 and ml8050 (with base at side).
Now what i want, a transistor set with more voltage capacity (around 7-8v) with less internal resistance.
What i have to have in mind to get that thing working properly, like base voltage or any frequency ( idont know if it has any) ?.
Please give a little idea of what these model number of transistor represent.
and a wide range of transistors that may replace this transistor set effectively. i am a noob here please help. will go to buy tommorow. Oh, the radio frequency is 49mhz.

Potato Pudding

Joined Jun 11, 2010
You would need to provide more information like pictures. We could see the transistors and identify their case type.

The part numbers of those transistors are not familiar to me. If you have a datasheet for them, you should provide a link. If you don't have a datasheet then you should search for one. I can't tell you what the model numbers represent, and don't have enough information to properly find out.

When you say the base is at the side I am not clear on how you have determined that.

Transistors with less than 10Volts rating are very rare. What we would need to know is a current rating.

It sounds like you have replaced the battery, perhaps it took 4 C Cells and you are plugging in a 6 N Cell NiMH battery.

That could reduce your current capacity and increase your source resistance drastically, either of which would cause reduced motor torque.

mohiuddin1111

Joined Apr 28, 2013
here it is in a zip file, as i took the picture with a mobile and those pics are large and i dont know how to reduce size. please kindly see that .