Transistor Question

TomWhitfield

Joined Apr 5, 2013
Hi all,

I've registered to this forum simply to ask a question regarding my transistor :)

I have a circuit which is powered by 12v, my transistor is getting really hot (cannot touch it for long before it burns my fingers!). My circuit works fine for a short amount of time, then it just stops functioning. if I turn off the power for a few hours and come back, it's working again.

Does this sound like a heat problem? Would the heat prevent the transistor from functioning? I am new to electronics but the project I'm doing is almost done, it's just annoying that it only works for 5-10 minutes before deciding to give up.

All details are below for the type of transistor I'm using...

TRANSISTOR, NPN, TO-92
Transistor Polarity:NPN
Collector Emitter Voltage V(br)ceo:40V
Power Dissipation Pd:625mW
DC Collector Current:600mA
DC Current Gain hFE:300
Transistor Case Style:TO-92
No. of Pins:3
Collector Emitter Voltage Vces:200mV
Continuous Collector Current Ic Max:600mA
Current Ic Fall Time Measurement:10mA
Device Marking:2N2222
Fall Time @ Ic:250ns
Full Power Rating Temperature:25°C
Gain Bandwidth ft Min:300MHz
Gain Bandwidth ft Typ:300MHz
Hfe Min:75
No. of Transistors:1
Package / Case:TO-92
Power Dissipation Pd:625mW
Termination Type:Through Hole

Thanks in advance people! :)

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

What are the ratings of the motor?
What is the value of the resistor in the base of the transistor?

Bertus

TomWhitfield

Joined Apr 5, 2013
Resistor Info

470 Ohm 0.25W Resistors
CR25 high stability carbon film Resistors
Operating Temperature: -55 to +125 C
Wattage: 0.25W
Max. working voltage: 300V
Max. overload voltage: 600v
Body dims. (L x dia): 6.5 x 2.5mm
Leads dims. (L x dia): 28 x 0.6mm

I'm not 100% sure on the motor I'm afraid, all I know is that it is a 12v motor, 300RPM & uses around 5W @12v DC.

Hope this helps?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012