Transistor naming

Hemasagar Babu

Joined Nov 4, 2013
Hey,
I'm an electronics student and naturally I've been dealing with transistors a lot. I've come across two transistors, the sl100 and sk100 which don't quite seem to agree with the transistor naming conventions. Can someone please tell me what sl and sk stand for in sl100 and sk100 respectively?
Your help would be much appreciated
Thank you :)

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
My "favorite" is the BC series of transistors where everyone freely specifies, for example, BC337, but there are two extra digits on some to specify hfe (BC337-25, or BC337-40). Those with the two extra digits generally (but not always) have 800 mA rating, whereas those without the two extra digits tend to be rated at 500 mA. Additionally, some distributors are not even aware of the differences and group them all together as the same part for parametric searches.

In other words, there is not even a standard within a series.

Hemasagar Babu

Joined Nov 4, 2013
Thank you guys for taking the time to type in your replies. Any idea what sl and sk stand for? Or is it just a case of the manufacturer using two letters according to his fancy? I do remember reading somewhere that s tells you it has a high slew rate and l specifies its application (in the low frequency range). I wasn't convinced with that answer, and that's why I posted the question here

dick56

Joined Apr 27, 2011
Hey,
I'm an electronics student and naturally I've been dealing with transistors a lot. I've come across two transistors, the sl100 and sk100 which don't quite seem to agree with the transistor naming conventions. Can someone please tell me what sl and sk stand for in sl100 and sk100 respectively?
http://www.engineersgarage.com/electronic-components/sl100-transistor