Transimpedance Op-amp, little gain for small signals, large gain for large signals

AFool

Joined May 21, 2014
Hello, first of all I am brand new to the forum. I did ask this question on another forum and was not given any advice, useful information, or really even a relevant avenue to look down. Hoping this place will be a bigger help. I'll start off by saying I am pretty new to electronics but am not asking to be spoon-fed answers.

Essentially here is what I have going on. I am shining a laser pointer on a photodiode(BPW21). By checking the voltage coming off of the diode I get a nice 0.00V(no light) and with the light(0.250V). I will spare you the detail but the intensity of the light acting on the photodiode does change for my application. Meaning I can get 'intensity'/'irradiance' measures of 0-0.250V.

Now, the goal is to turn this range into a larger but still accurate analog signal so it can be read by a microcontroller. Ideally I would like to see 0.0-5.0V but at this point will happily settle for 0.0-2.5V. Now I am aware, it is the current of photodiodes which has a linear response to light intensity not the voltage. So I selected a transimpedance operational amplifier to achieve this goal(current->voltage+gain).

I have attached an image of the circuit diagram I am currently using(hopefully the photo diode isn't backwards in the diagram it's not in the actual circuit :(). I will create a diagram of what is exactly on the bread board by request.