Transferring a binary to a Maxim MAXQ610 chip

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
I'm new to embedded systems and looking for tips on transferring a binary executable to a MaxQ610 chip by Maxim via a JTAG interface, without spending $4k+ on software. I'm building the Maxim reference board found here. I plan to compile the given source code using a trial version of IAR Embedded Workbench, which will leave me with a binary. Once the trial expires, I need a way to transfer the binary to the chip without the expensive software. Is there someone familiar with Maxim software that can tell me if the Maxim "MTK" software will transfer the binary built in IAR Embedded Workbench to the MaxQ610 chip?

This is a proof of concept project with a shoestring budget, so I need to figure out how to copy the binary executable to this chip without spending $4000+ for software. If the project takes off then I can buy the software, but at this stage there is no money for it. According to the help files the Maxim MTK software can send "code" to the chip, but I'm not clear if it will transfer a binary that was created in other software. Thank you in advance for any tips or information!

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Call an FAE on the telephone. He should be able to help with your query. He might even be able to suggest alternative tools for this phase of the project. They want to sell chips and they are competing with people who give this stuff away for free for the sole purpose of selling chips.

I'll venture a guess that not many hobbyists, such as ourselves, can afford the spare scratch to purchase the IAR toolset for any processor let alone an oddball one. That was your first bad choice, try to avoid compounding the mistake.

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
Thanks for the tip, I will look for an FAE if no one here knows the answer. I'm also waiting for Maxim support to respond to my question.