Transfer Function

DJ.Rich

Joined Oct 10, 2010
Hello,

I am very new to Control Systems theory.

I was just wondering would it be possible to get help with this question, and to maybe help me understand it more.

Q. Given a system with the transfer function Gp(s) = 200/ ((s+20)(s+1)(s+10)) .

If it is required to approximate the given Gp(s) using a 1st order system, please write down its transfer function (it should have the system gain as Gp(s)).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

DJ.Rich

Joined Oct 10, 2010
Thanks.

Would I be right in thinking that the answer is:

10 / (S^2 + 11s +10) ?

If I remove the (s+20) bracket as it should affect the outcome of the transient response the least? Furthest away from the y axis?

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
Thanks.

Would I be right in thinking that the answer is:

10 / (S^2 + 11s +10) ?

If I remove the (s+20) bracket as it should affect the outcome of the transient response the least? Furthest away from the y axis?
You've proposed a second order equivalent - rather than a first order.

One approach would be to separate the total transfer function into its partial fraction equivalent and take the most persistent transient first order term as the approximation.

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
In order to linearize a TF you need to choose a point of operation Q, around which you will assume that your system will operate. This is a nescessary assumption in order to perform the linearization.

The formula that linearizes the TF g(x_1,x_2,...,x_n) around the point (x_1o,x_2o,...,x_no) is the following:
\(y=g(x_{1o},x_{2o},...,x_{no})+\left\ {\frac{\vartheta g}{\vartheta x_1}} \right|_{x=x_{1o}} \cdot (x-x_{1o})+\left\ {\frac{\vartheta g}{\vartheta x_2}} \right|_{x=x_{2o}} \cdot (x-x_{2o})+...+\left\ {\frac{\vartheta g}{\vartheta x_n}} \right|_{x=x_{no}} \cdot (x-x_{no})
\)

DJ.Rich

Joined Oct 10, 2010
Thanks for the replies. Would it be possible to show what the final answer should be, for :