Tolerance Stackup

tindel

Joined Sep 16, 2012
I'm trying to layout a AAx2 battery holder and I'm having trouble with tolerance stackup - I just can't see it logically in my mind.

Each lead is spec'd at 0.81mm +/- 0.25mm. Assuming my PWB manufacture can drill within 0.25mm, I think that means I need 1.31mm +/- 0.25mm for my layout drill hole and 2.50mm diameter for my pad should be sufficient.

What I'm really having a hard time with is if drill holes should be made bigger due to tolerance stackup. The distance between the two drill holes is 14.99mm +/- 0.25mm. I think that my drill holes need to increase another 0.125mm to 1.425 +/- 0.25mm. But I'm not sure if this is correct.

I'm not a mechanical guy - my brain doesn't work this way. :rolleyes:

Is this right?

tindel

Joined Sep 16, 2012
All that said, I believe a 1/16" (1.588mm) drill bit will be adequate with a 1/8" (3.175mm) pad if I space the holes at 14.99mm +/- 0.25mm

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
What I get is the max pin diameter would be .81 + .25 0r 1.06 mm max.

The pin spacing seems OK. Do you have any wiggle room as far as bending the pins a bit ?

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
I doubt that. First of all, pins are quite bendy so you don´t need to have so big tolerances. Second thing is that the bit is twice the size of the pins, which will lead to unnecessary play in the holes and probably some trouble with soldering them. I´d use something like 1.2 or 1.3mm drill.

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
Another consideration. Assuming these are plated-through holes does the mfr
calculate the drill for you based on the finished hole size or are you expected to consider that in your calculations. I haven't ordered PCB's in a long time but I seem to remember being asked to consider the through hole plating dimension when specifying driil size.

tindel

Joined Sep 16, 2012