To choose an oscilloscope

TBayBoy

Joined May 25, 2011
I'm a first year EE student and currently have my home set up of a multi meter and variable power supply.

I figure the next step is to source out an oscilloscope, and from what my looking around turned up I have a couple of choices.

Build a pocket unit like this one:
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9484

a PC based one:

or something on EBay

My budget is about 200.00 and the intended use is my own lab circuits for school and then transition to hobby radio and clock work.

I would be interested in your opinions on sources, pre built or kits, features, specs etc.

thanks.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
Which currency is the 200 in? USD, GBP, EUR, other...?

I'd highly recommend looking around for local surplus stores. Used test equipment is often available cheap from them.

I bought my HP 54501A from a local store for just £150, including one scope probe. 100 MHz bandwidth, quad channel, digitising, with CRT monitor.

Then again, if you can stretch your budget to $300-350 (assuming USD) you can pick up a *new* Rigol DS1052E. With a simple modification, they can be converted to DS1102E's - 50 MHz vs. 100 MHz. I'm not sure if the newer scopes support it, though; it's a software thing.

Just picked up a 100MHz Tektronix 2235 on ebay for a hundred bucks (plus 50 shipping for that hefty thing... )

Cant argue with that though! It should do the trick for me (audio work mostly! Some work with DSPs/micros too.... logic analyzer is next!)

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
... logic analyzer is next!)
I got this 34 CHANNEL LA1034 LOGICPORT LOGIC ANALYZER, 200MHz with compression, 500MHz without compression.

Also, I turned it into an Oscilloscope using an analog to digital converter AD9059 + LTC6904 + PIC16F88 (as main parts). The AD9059 goes up to 60 MSPS.
The software for the logic analyzer turns digital data into analog representation on the display.