Timing of objects passing a fixed point?

JAYVEE144

Joined Jun 7, 2013
Hello All, I am a newbie to this forum and would like to pick your brains.I am trying to find equipment that would achieve the above objective. My layman's thinking envisages a transmitter at the fixed point, and receiver(s) on the passing object(s).The said receiver would need to record and store a time at a number of fixed points which would be downloaded at a later time giving details of points passed in what sequence and at what time. I hope this explains my objective clearly.

I hope this is not presumptive from a newbie and is not a misuse of this forum? If so, Mea Culpa

jayvee144

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
What you describe is very similar to timing systems for 5k and 10k races. They use ankle or wrist straps with an RFID tag. Each tag has a unique ID number. Almost a mini version of fastPass for toll roads. All data is saved with time stamp into a database or excel sheet.

What is your application, number of objects passing the reader, access to power on reader and object, access to PC on the reader?

you can use rfid tags as GopherT said.. making the transmitter ask the location of the rfid tag, then momentarily makes a data on location at that specific moment in time.. making the data be put into a spreadsheet, depends how frequent it will be is for you to decide..

JAYVEE144

Joined Jun 7, 2013
What you describe is very similar to timing systems for 5k and 10k races. They use ankle or wrist straps with an RFID tag. Each tag has a unique ID number. Almost a mini version of fastPass for toll roads. All data is saved with time stamp into a database or excel sheet.

What is your application, number of objects passing the reader, access to power on reader and object, access to PC on the reader?
Thank you for your interest and help.